Skip to content

As Ranking Member of the Senate Rules Committee, Klobuchar Selected to Serve as a Leader on 59th Presidential Inaugural Committee

Klobuchar JCCIC appointment 2020

Committee includes Senate Rules Committee Chairman Blunt, Speaker Pelosi, Senate Majority Leader McConnell, House Majority Leader Hoyer, and House Minority Leader McCarthy

 WASHINGTON - This week U.S. Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Ranking Member of the Senate Committee on Rules and Administration with jurisdiction over presidential succession, co-hosted the organizational meeting of the 59th Presidential Inaugural Committee. As Ranking Member of the Rules Committee, Klobuchar will serve on the Joint Congressional Committee on Inaugural Ceremonies (JCCIC) and provide remarks at the inauguration. 

“It is an honor to serve on this committee, which lays the groundwork for the inauguration of the president of the United States,” Klobuchar said. “The inaugural ceremony is one of the cornerstones of our democracy, representing the continuity of leadership in our nation.”

For more than 240 years Americans have witnessed the peaceful transition of power as exemplified by the inauguration of the President-elect and Vice President-elect of the United States. Since the 1789 inauguration of George Washington, the ceremony represents continuity of leadership and our dedication to democratic governance. 

JCCIC is traditionally responsible for the inauguration and related events. Both chambers of Congress must pass a joint resolution to establish the JCCIC. Senators on the JCCIC are appointed by the President of the Senate, pursuant to authority granted in the authorizing resolution. The JCCIC is traditionally comprised of the Senate Majority Leader, the Chairman and Ranking Member of the Senate Committee on Rules and Administration, the Speaker of the House, and the Majority and Minority Leaders of the House of Representatives.