Skip to content

Rules Committee Members Praise Senate Passage of Anti-Harassment Resolution

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Senate Rules Committee Ranking Member Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.) and Senate Rules Committee Chairman Richard Shelby (R-Ala.) today announced the passage of the “Anti-Harassment Training Resolution.” This resolution was introduced by the Ranking Member and cosponsored by the remaining 18 members of the Senate Rules Committee and Senator Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa).

“Making harassment training mandatory in the Senate sends a clear message: harassment of any kind is not and will not be tolerated in Congress. Period,” Ranking Member Klobuchar said. “Sexual and workplace harassment is a widespread problem that affects too many women and men in too many places, professions, and industries. Everyone deserves to feel safe and comfortable at work, and the passage of this official Senate policy is an important measure to ensure that’s the case in these halls.”

“Comprehensive anti-harassment training will now be a requirement for everyone in the Senate community,” Chairman Shelby said. “Senator Klobuchar’s resolution is a common-sense, bipartisan proposal that will make it clear that harassment of any kind will not be tolerated. I am pleased that this resolution received unanimous support.”

The “Anti-Harassment Training Resolution” will require Senators, Senate officers, and staff – including interns and detailees – to participate in comprehensive training regarding the various forms of workplace harassment, including sexual harassment, prohibited under the Congressional Accountability Act. The anti-harassment training will be required every Congress. Additionally, the resolution requires Senate offices to certify compliance to the Secretary of the Senate. The certifications will subsequently be posted on the Secretary’s public-facing website.

Current Senators, Senate officers, and staff must complete the training within 60 days of passage of the resolution. Any individual who joins the Senate after passage of the resolution would be required to complete training within 60 days of assuming their position.

The following Senators cosponsored the bill: Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Richard Shelby (R-Ala.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.), Minority Leader Charles Schumer (D-N.Y.), Thad Cochran (R-Miss.), Richard Durbin (D-Ill.), Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.), Tom Udall (D-N.M.), Pat Roberts (R-Kan.), Mark Warner (D-Va.), Roy Blunt (R-Mo.), Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Angus King (D-Maine), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), and Deb Fischer (R-Neb.).