Skip to content

PHOTOS: Joint Congressional Committee on Inaugural Ceremonies Kicks Off Planning for 59th Presidential Inauguration

JCCIC Organizational Meeting

<<< Click here for more photos>>>

WASHINGTON – Yesterday, U.S. Senator Roy Blunt (Mo.), Chairman of the Senate Committee on Rules and Administration, convened an organizational meeting for the Joint Congressional Committee on Inaugural Ceremonies (JCCIC). Joined by Rules Committee Ranking Member Amy Klobuchar (Minn.), the meeting marked the official start of the planning process for the 59th Presidential Inauguration. 

“The U.S. Presidential Inaugural Ceremony is an iconic symbol of democracy,” said Blunt. “People from all over the world watch as we come together to celebrate this American tradition. It is a significant opportunity for us, as a country, to continue demonstrating democracy in action. As Chairman of the Joint Congressional Committee on Inaugural Ceremonies, I look forward to working with all of our partners to ensure a safe and successful 59th Presidential Inauguration.”

“It is an honor to serve on this committee, which lays the groundwork for the inauguration of the president of the United States,” Klobuchar said. “The inaugural ceremony is one of the cornerstones of our democracy, representing the continuity of leadership in our nation.”

The agenda for the meeting included designating Blunt as the JCCIC chairman, designating the West Front of the Capitol as the 2021 Inaugural site, approving the $1.5 million Inaugural budget, and designating the official staff representative for each member of the committee.                        

A video of the meeting is available here and photos of the meeting are available here 

The Joint Committee was authorized by S. Con. Res. 38, which passed the Senate on May 6, 2020. In accordance with tradition, the Senate appointed Chairman of the Committee on Rules and Administration Roy Blunt, Ranking Member of the Committee on Rules and Administration Amy Klobuchar, and Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell. S. Con. Res. 38 passed the House on June 26, 2020. By tradition, the House appointed Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi, House Majority Leader Steny Hoyer, and House Republican Leader Kevin McCarthy.